A Political Approach To NCAA Realignment

There are more shifts in college athletic conferences than one will find in an Obama press conference.  “Realignment” has been discussed for months with talk of schools moving from one conference to another, at least one conference disbanding – all of if complicated by geography, revenue potential and traditional rivalries.  Nebraska moves to the Big 10 as the 12th team (huh?).  The Pac 10 adds an 11th with the addition of Colorado, which leaves the Big 12 with only eleven schools.  BUT, Texas might also leaving the Big 12 which, one would think, would make it the Not So Big 10.  The one thing that doesn’t seem to matter is arithmetic (yet another Obama similarity).

So why not give this a more definitive means of disbursement?  Why not assign conferences and their divisions based on the last presidential election?  You know, Red State Blue State?  After all, this is primarily a political blog; and it’s not as if politics can’t be found in college sports. 

It would work like this; every school in the states carried by the Republican nominee in 2008 (Red State) would be in one conference and every school in the states carried by the Democrat (Blue State) would be in the other conference.  Within those conferences would be five divisions designed to accommodate scheduling, travel, playoffs, etc.

The Socialist Conference

Referring to those schools in the 29 states that voted for Barack Obama (Blue States) as “The Blue Conference” would be unimaginative and “The Democrat Conference” would be even more dumb, so call it . . . The Socialist Conference.

Leftist Division: Washington, Washington State, Oregon, Oregon State, Cal, Stanford, UCLA, Southern Cal, San Diego State, UNLV, Colorado State, Colorado, Arizona and New Mexico.

Tundra Division: Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Western Michigan, Michigan State, Pittsburgh, Buffalo and Hawaii (just because!)

Who Cares Division: Iowa, Iowa State, Missouri, Illinois, Northern Illinois, Toledo, Kent State and Northwestern

Yankee Division: Akron, Bowling Green, Cincinnati, Miami, Ohio, Ohio State, Penn State, Syracuse, Rutgers and Boston College

Carpetbagger Division: Florida, Florida State, Central Florida, Miami, Maryland, East Carolina, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Duke, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest

The Freedom Conference

These are the schools in the Red States.  It could also be called The Patriots Conference, The Conference of America or The League of Liberty.

Cowboy Division: BYU, Wyoming, Utah, Boise State, Kansas, Kansas State, Tulsa, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and Nebraska

Texas Division: TCU, Texas, Texas A&M, Baylor, Texas Tech, Rice, Houston, SMU and UTEP

Gulf Coast Division: UAB, Alabama, Auburn, Tulane, Southern Miss, Ol Miss, Mississippi State, LSU,

Old South Division: Arkansas, Georgia, Georgia Tech, South Carolina, Clemson, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, Memphis

Pioneer Division: West Virginia, Marshall, Kentucky, Purdue, Indiana and Louisville

I don’t want to include the service academies because they should be free of political influence.

As for Notre Dame – to Hell with ’em!



2 thoughts on “A Political Approach To NCAA Realignment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s